Wednesday Chatter (and whatnot)

How are you today my blazing brethren and sisters-in-spark?

My question for you today is this – is there a character that represents you in any of your stories? Have you selfied in words?

Back when I was young, the first author I ever followed was Stephen King. I had read series like Encyclopedia Brown or Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys, but from my perspective I was following the characters’ lives, not reading my way through an author’s body of work. After I had read one or two, I sought out Stephen King’s books intentionally because I liked the way he told a story.

Those of you who have read Stephen King know that he frequently places a character who is an author into his stories and has written himself in on more than one occasion. And it’s not even the Where’s Waldo kind of cameo that he (and M.Knight and Stan Lee) does in his movies. His writer is front and center crying for his mommy or wielding the axe.

Having a chronicler in your story can be important – this happened, but if everybody dies then who is left to tell the tale?  – but do they need to be a writer from the start? Does it need to be you?

Another point to be made for having the author character is simple – we live in these stories during the telling, they come from us, they are a part of us. Why should we not be a part of them as well?

What is your take on the practice as a reader? As the writer – have you? Would you?

Reminders –
Voting deadline for Utopia: Inception is Thursday, January 15th quarter to midnight (sorry if I got the date wrong on a previous post). Please read, comment, and vote.

Submission deadline for Utopia: Unity is Sunday, January 25th (also quarter to midnight, and always EST I’m afraid).

Come join in the workshop Kathy is hosting on dialog. If I can get out of the office at a decent hour tonight, I will be working on my dialog exercises to share with the class. Put some time in on yours too.

Spread the Brigit’s Flame love. Follow, like, share, tell a friend. We are on wordpress, livejournal, facebook, and twitter. There’s something for everyone who loves to read or write.

About t.s.wright

Writer, reader, casual photographer, nature-lover, dog mom. I grew up in a tree, inside a book, whispering possible futures into discarded seed pods that curled up and exploded each summer. One day, they cut down my tree and I was forced to go to school while waiting for the replacement trees to grow strong enough to hold me. But while we waited, I grew too heavy and awkward to climb, so I had to get a job. I spent my days surrounded by flimsy walls covered in carpet that made boxes and people who forgot to look out windows. I worked really hard. Possibilities were replaced with formulas and exactitude. Eventually I forgot how to climb a tree...and how to smile. Then one day, a dog licked my foot excessively and I remembered smiling. That reminded me of more things that didn't cost money and couldn't be tallied in a spreadsheet - like hugs and love and being happy. So I found myself a Steve who reminded me what home was. Then we filled it and our hearts with dogs. Eventually we planted our own tree, together. Even though I'm happy right here, right now, I remembered that we all need possibilities to dream of, so I've started writing them down.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday Chatter (and whatnot)

  1. My Holly is the chronicler of her story — the yet untitled tale of zombies mauling the central and southern U.S. This tale originated as a series of journal entries, and I kept that tone even though I eventually decided to change the format. I have enjoyed reading books in the past that employ the technique and I don’t have any aversions to writing this way, as long as it feels right for the character. I like the intimacy, as well as the immediacy of the limited viewpoint.

    For the past week or so I’ve been reading something wholly different, Elizabeth Gilbert’s The Signature of All Things. This book is technically done in a third person omniscient p.o.v. and, thus far, it does more telling than showing than any other novel I’ve ever read. Sounds terrible, right? NO! Elizabeth Gilbert just might be the only person I’ve read that could pull this off with… surprise… intimacy and immediacy. I’m still shocked over the warmth and beauty this author manages to convey without a narrator who’s actually part of the story. That yummy voice of hers, and the emotional vividness of her words from Eat, Pray, Love live in this story, too. (I’m only a few chapters in, so if y’all have read please don’t pass along any spoilers, okay? 😀 )

    With no explanation for Gilbert’s magic, yes, an author/narrator is usually my favorite to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

