Thursday Chatter by amri

Good Morning Flamelings!

Let’s talk about writer’s block.

I’m in denial.   I’ve been in denial for years.  I can’t possibly have writer’s block for that long.  Of course not!  I can pick it up any time I want.  I chose not to at this time.

It has been quite a long time since I’ve written anything that I’m truly satisfied to say I wrote that and I’m proud of it.  The little doubts are starting to creep in on whether I am good at it or even if I still enjoy it.  My voice in my head sobs in the corner at the missed opportunities for the untold stories that I think about on the commute home, or the crazy adventures I dream about almost every night.

When I did write regularly, my favorite writing exercise was 100 word drabbles.  It was challenging enough to write an engaging tidbit in exactly 100 words and short enough that I didn’t feel like I wasted time if I got frustrated with the way it turned out.  Some of time it would spark enough energy for me to continue on into a short story while others it just proved to be something fun to do and made me feel well enough that I could call myself a writer.

I admit it.  I am tempted by darlinleo’s dialogue workshop since it is completely different than anything I’ve tried before and this could be the push that gets me propelled back into writing.

Have you ever had writer’s block for so long that you start to lose faith in yourself?  What writing exercises do you do to keep yourself engaged enough to avoid long periods of writer’s block?

Reminders:

Voting deadline for Utopia: Inception is Thursday, January 15th 11:45pm EST (tonight).  Show some love to the Flamelings that got inspired.

Submission deadline for Utopia: Unity is Sunday, January 25th 11:45pm EST.

Darlinleo is hosting a workshop on dialogue.  Join in on the exercises.

 

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday Chatter by amri

  1. My problem is not writer’s block, but too many distractions. My husband’s schedule is very distracting… right when I think I’ve nailed a routine down, his hours, or off-duty goals/responsibilities change and I’m tossed off track again. This may all seem like a flimsy excuse, but it’s really difficult for me to account for and work around constant interruptions in schedule. If I were to actually carve out a solid two hours each day for writing, however, wouldn’t it be sad if I couldn’t get any words out? The last time I managed such a luxurious time frame, I actually fell asleep 😦

    I really miss writing exercises. AND I ADORE DRABBLES! The dialogue workshop is definitely my attempt at getting back into the game, so to speak. I hope you play along, amri!

    Like

Leave a Reply

