Chatter Post — Friday, February 6, 2015

Greetings, my friends of Flame!

I have the correct day this time. It is Friday, which is my day for Chatter! YAY!

I went to bed around 11 PM. Slept for about an hour and a half – and have been trying to go back to sleep to no avail. Since I have to write my Chatter, I figured I might as well get up and do that.

I had oral surgery on Tuesday – they took all my remaining teeth on top (eight, if I recall correctly), and six on the bottom. I’ve been taking pain meds since Tuesday. Tonight, I took the last one before going to bed. I fell asleep directly – and then woke up an hour and a half later – awake. Lovely.

I was not permitted to go to Physical Therapy on Wednesday, and Thursday was very cold here, so I stayed inside. I did some work around the house and I did not take a nap because I want to get out of that habit. I have an appointment on Friday, so I have to get up at a particular time. Of course, I can’t sleep the eve of the day I must get up early. Of course.

Oral surgery and pain medication knocks my perception of time for a loop. I *know* it has been less than three days since the surgery – it feels like it’s been more than a week. Part of that, I believe, is that I was told to rest as much as possible and not do any “heavy cardio” until Sunday. Since early January, when I had the bilateral cortisone shots in my hips, I have been going to Physical Therapy twice a week AND riding the recumbent bike at home. I haven’t been doing that since Tuesday, so I haven’t gotten tired from physical activity.

Do you ever lose track of your perception of time? If so, what causes that for you?

Take care and have a great weekend!!

Reminders:
Submission deadline for the mini contest Curiouser & Curiouser is Sunday, February 8th 11:45pm EST.

Workshops are still ongoing; click the link to find both the dialogue and drabble ones!

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chatter Post — Friday, February 6, 2015

  1. Rio says:

    OMG! You poor thing! I can’t imagine what it must be like to have that many teeth out. I had one tooth pulled and it was horrible!

    Yes, when I had pneumonia and then again when I had the flu I had a note pad by my bed where I recorded the time and my temperature because other wise I would imagine that days had past.

    The worst time-wonkiness was after major surgery. Apparently for the first couple of days I would wake up, look at whoever and say, “Did I have the surgery?” lol Then they put me on a machine so I could self dose my pain meds and I would think I was buzzing a nurse to reposition my bed and instead I was re-dosing and passing out again. It was a plot to keep me quiet I am sure.

    Feel better soon!

    Like

  2. Pingback: weekend wrap up | Brigit's Flame

Leave a Reply

