As it happens-Sunday Chatter

The other day when I got up it was 4 degrees. At the moment it is 56 degrees. And at some point this week wer are supposed to get snow. Because that is how it should be. Sometime’s life’s only constant is a lack of constant.

Do you think that applies to writing also? I have to be honest, I am not 100%sure. If we treated our fiction the way real life treats us I think people would not find our stories believable.

What do you think? Do you think that making your stories too realistic makes them unbelievable? Or even worse sometimes…boring? Thankfully I know many people who speak as though they are part of a dialog. Makes it easier to cheat and write found poetry,or scripts. et tu?

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to As it happens-Sunday Chatter

  1. Rio says:

    I don’t know! I know that if I tried to write the story of my life no one would believe it! It would take a better writer to make it a good read.
    As a reader, I enjoy good pacing in a story and I will follow anything story anywhere it takes me if it doesn’t leave me totally behind. Example: I just finished reading “A Tale of Two Cities” and while I found the language to be a bit cumbersome at first, I got the hang of it and rode all the way up to the guillotine with Mr. Carton and yet, reading, or trying to read William Gibson’s “Zero History” it was the pacing and language of this “high-tech dystopian thriller” that seemed impossible for me. I read with some degree of difficulty anyway but he just packs too much stuff into every paragraph, like he’s building a stone wall to lock me out with words. I REALLY WANTED TO LIKE HIM.

    Like

  2. Pingback: weekend wrap-up | Brigit's Flame

Leave a Reply

