Chatter Post — Friday, February 13, 2015 (Week 2)

Heyla, my friends of the Flame!!

Before I forget, here are the appropriate Reminders for the week:

Reminders:

Submission deadline for the mini contest for week 2 PBJ is Sunday, February 15th 11:45pm EST.

Workshops are still ongoing; click the link to find both the dialogue and drabble ones!

I hope you all are planning a great weekend! It’s a long weekend AND has Valentine’s Day in it. (At least in many parts of the US.) It is also Friday, the 13th.

I have never understood the concern about Friday, the 13th being an unlucky day. It never bothered me, ever. It wasn’t a thing in my family. When I got older, and people started being so crazed about it, I poked at it a bit. Apparently, one of the reasons that Friday, the 13th, was considered lucky was that Friday was named after a Norse Goddess (Frigg or Frigga), which was HORRIBLE!!! The number 13 was a concern because that is the traditional number of people in a Circle – which the main culture, being predominantly Judeo-Christian, found disturbing.

Though I never said it this way, nor was it said to me this way, I was raised in a Roman Catholic family who still believed “There is no one, true, right, and only way.” (Mercedes Lackey, 2014 – and many other times, it is in about every book she has ever written, in one way or another.) I am no longer a practicing Roman Catholic, and I have been known to hang out with Episcopalians, and Methodists, and people who practice many different faith traditions. I self-identify as Pagan, specifically as an Eclectic Witch. I am ordained by a church based on Native American principles, in which I am Clan Grandmother of the Wolf Clan. (Cedar Wolfsinger is my Native Name.) I regularly attend a Unitarian Universalist Fellowship, and it has become one of my spiritual homes.

How do you feel about Friday, the 13th? If you dislike/fear Friday, the 13th – please tell me why, and what you might have been told about it. Do you have any particularly dreadful experiences connected with the combination of Friday and the number 13? Do you have any particularly wonderful experiences with the combination of Friday and the number 13? I’d love to hear about them, one way or another.

Have a great weekend. #gowrite (although drabbles are HARD TO WRITE!!!)

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chatter Post — Friday, February 13, 2015 (Week 2)

  1. Pingback: weekend wrap-up | Brigit's Flame

Leave a Reply

