Manic Monday Chatter returns with your host, RicoChey!

REMINDERS: The Week Three topic invites you to write one hundred words or less on Heart-Shaped Paper. Our workshops also remain open, awaiting your contribution: click here for 1 & 2, and here for 3 & 4.

Back when I was in charge of two Chatters a week, I failed to deliver on either of my two promises to stick to a theme. Now, as a one-Chatter woman who also happens to be incredibly manic at the best of times, I think I’m ready to re-embrace Manic Mondays as my true calling. It stands to reason anything written by me is inherently manic by nature. Welcome back to the most neurotic day of the week, Flames.

I’m writing this Chatter on what I consider to be a Sunday night, despite the fact that it is definitely two hours and fifteen minutes into Monday proper. I would have written it hours ago and gone to bed, but my job thinks President’s Day is a good reason to stay home, so I stayed up about five extra hours watching Buzz Feed videos on YouTube. I never considered myself one of those people who gets absorbed by videos and wastes hours viewing one after the other, to no apparent goal. Buzz Feed, however, pulls me in like siren song. Between the different Buzz Feed channels (Blue, Red, Yellow, etc.), you get an eclectic mix of comedy, social commentary, and educational montage. On average, they’re about three minutes long, so my short American attention span does not suffer. It also helps that I have a crush on a few of the women in the videos…

All in all tonight (among many other things), I’ve learned about foreign cuisine, watched men try drag for the first time, listened to women read hateful YouTube comments they received just for being a woman posting a video, and learned how to properly refrigerate certain odd food items. Compared to the mindless scrolling through celebrity selfies or stalking several different exes’ Facebooks to find pictures of their new girlfriends and boyfriends, I think I’ve chosen the more enlightened road.

I know you enjoy the internet, so don’t deny it! What part of the web is stickiest for you? Where do you find yourself getting most lost, drifting through content with that general attitude of “just one more”?

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

