Wednesday Chatter (and whatnot) – February 18

‘Tis Wednesday, Flames. Aside from being my day to chatter, it is that mid-week slump (or peak) for some that must be endured to get closer to the weekend.

I have a few writerly things I’d like to discuss with you, but I feel more whimsical than writerly today. (Or maybe just extra tired.) So let’s play a little game.

In the car last night, Boyfriend and I were talking about songs on the radio and their names. He happened to have the radio tuned in to a country station, so there were some fun opportunities. During the mockfest, Boyfriend tells me there is a song called “Sunshine and Whiskey” where the singer is comparing a woman’s kisses to these two things that, to him, are the best things in the world. Boyfriend comments that sunshine’s okay, but whiskey is gross. I’m not a huge fan of either, so if we were being super literal that hottie on the beach (in the song) would be fairly lukewarm.

Similies like this are accepted for the songwriter’s sake as being in the good, or pro column in context – regardless of who is listening. But what if you are a vegan and the singer is waxing poetic about a juicy steak? Or the cowboy days of wrangling steer? Or you’re afraid of dogs and the singer is bemoaning the loss of his faithful hound?

This is your chance to write a little diddy where the comparisons are not broadly appealing, but specific to your tastes and sensibilities.

Start with one of these lines and fill in your favorites.

“Every time you kiss me it’s like… … …”

“I’m dreaming of … … …, but I would trade them all for one more night with you”

“…. ….
These are a few of my favorite things.”

Have fun with it. Do more than one if you like. Heck, write us a whole song.

Enjoy


A few reminders –

Week one of our February Tiny Tales [Curiouser & Curioser] was won by RicoChey. Balloonhat came in a close second with one measly vote less. Both submissions were excellent, but there can be only one.
The second of our drabble mini-contests [PBJ] is in the voting phase, make sure you read, comment, and vote before tomorrow night. Every vote counts.
Drabble 3 of 4 is open for submissions by all. The topic is “Heart-shaped Paper” and was inspired by our own resident poet, Kathy. #gowrite
Finally, join in the Dialog Workshop we have four exercises for you to explore.

Have a great week!

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wednesday Chatter (and whatnot) – February 18

  1. Rio says:

    Well cowboys say all sorts of dumb things!

    If you have what you feel is a contentious metaphor it might just be a way of dressing a character for easy reference.

    I think popular sayings are sometimes a jumping off place for authors. A story can either open up the fallacy of one or expand on the relevance of it.

    Like

  2. Rio says:

    Oh, there’s an assignment! Okay! I don’t have a lot of time this morning but here goes!

    1. Every time you kiss me it’s like your checking something off a to-do list.

    2. I’m dreaming of tequila, Brad Pitt and a bag of chips but I would trade them all for one more night with you.

    3. Bikers in tutus and whiskers on babies
    nudists on bicycles, wealthy old ladies
    regular bowels and coffee with cream
    These are a few of the things that I dream,
    When the COLD BITES
    when the bills come,
    when I feel quite mad,
    I simply remember my favourite things
    and then I don’t feel so S.A.D.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Every time you kiss me,
    it’s like your lips are full of memories
    that don’t include me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, that one came from a negative place!
    I like it though.

    Like

  5. Nudists on bicycles!
    Oh how you make me smile. 🙂

    Like

  6. Shit. And I can’t fix that from my phone. Darlinleo’s entry from last week is where yours belongs in the poll. Let me see if Kathy is home and can fix it.

    Like

  7. skyllairae says:

    Every time you kiss me it’s like eating all the things that give me hives.

    I’m dreaming of poems, prestige, and a publication deal but I would trade them all for one more night with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

