Chatter Post — March 6, 2015 — Week 1

Happy Friday, my friends of the Flame. This has been one crazy week. On Saturday, I drove my sister, Peggy, and her fiancé to West Virginia (from New Jersey), where she will now be living, after having lived in New Jersey with me for seven years. I stayed there on Sunday to “rest up” – which actually came down to driving into town so that Peggy could buy the ingredients for pasta sauce, which I had promised her son that I would make for him. We shopped, we came home, I cooked, we ate, I talked to my niece for a couple of hours, and I went to sleep.

Monday, I got up when I had planned, and managed to pack and leave about an hour earlier than I had expected. The first time I got off the highway, took a wrong turn, and couldn’t find a place to turn around destroyed that jump start on the day. I drove all day, and got a hotel room that night in Pennsylvania. Little did I realize that it was less than 2 hours from home – because I would have pulled off in a roadside rest area, taken a nap, and pushed on to home. I feel like I wasted the money… my husband still thinks it was a good thing to do.

I got home on Tuesday, loved on the dog, loved on the cat, loved on the husband – then took a nap. I woke up and realized that I had picked up a cold on my travels. I have been taking Advil and Benadryl, and drinking tea, hoping that my health will return by Sunday, when I have a Choral Festival in which to sing.

Part of me wonders if the travel exhausted me, which made me easy prey for the cold. On the other hand, I was in a household with a five-year-old and a two-year-old – who knows what they might have given to me? In addition, the trailer is stuffy and the room in which I was sleeping is the room in which my niece’s mother smokes all the time, and I am very allergic to cigarette smoke.

I slept much of the day Thursday – getting up to watch the snow fall from time to time, having a cup of tea, and going back to bed. Wednesday, I rescheduled an appointment I had for Thursday because they were predicting the snow. I am really glad I did because they were correct – I don’t know how much snow we got, but I think it was between 4 and 8 inches.

I am grateful that I have a couple of days to rest and recover before I have to sing. I would have liked to start the new part of the journey in good health. On the other hand, having the time to rest and recover before beginning this new phase in my life is not such a bad thing.

How do you feel about change in your life? Do you like it? Loathe it? Just put up with it?

Reminders:

Go write. You’ve got a few days still, but why wait. Go write some “Local Color” today. #gowrite

We are now taking application for guest chatter hosts. Apply within.

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chatter Post — March 6, 2015 — Week 1

  1. Pingback: Weekend wrap-up | Brigit's Flame

Leave a Reply

