Chatter Post — March 27, 2015 — Week 4

Hello, hello, hello my good friends of Brigit’s Flame. I am so psyched because, as you read this, I will be in PA enjoying a workshop on how to lead drum circles. I hope you have some exciting plans for the weekend – even if those exciting plans are staying in and enjoying your own company.

I was poking about on the Interwebs today, and I came upon this site. http://writingexercises.co.uk/dialogue-generator.php

I poked at it a bit and I found it to be awesome. The landing page has an index on the left of the page. You can choose from any number of options including Random Plot Generator, Random Dialogue Generator, Random First Line Generator, and an exercise called “Take Three Nouns” in which you are given one abstract and two concrete nouns and asked to write about “Seen together, what do they make you think about? How does your mind connect them?” They suggest making this into a free writing exercise. I generated “patience gun vase”. I don’t really have the time to do the exercise right now because I am packing for my trip – and I still have scenarios running through my head about how I could write a short story, or even a drabble, about these words. (In all of them so far, the vase is destroyed, poor thing.)

I have bookmarked this page. I believe I will come back to it many times, especially when finishing my NaNo novel from 2013 and during NaNoWriMo itself this year. Poke at this and let us know what you think about it. That’s the fun, you know, seeing what works and doesn’t work for different people.

Reminder:

The final March topic is The Devil I Have Not Met. #gowrite

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

