Manic Monday, hosted by RicoChey.

April is already shaping up to be an intense month. Here’s what you have to consider:

The first topic of April is up, and we invite you to share the open stage in ACT I.

April is Poetry Month, and we at the Flame encourage you to participate in A Poem a Day to feed your artistic soul.

NaNoWriMo presents Camp NaNoWriMo, a team player’s event for writers who can’t wait for November to face a challenge.

Now, on to some chatter.

My neighbor “adopted” a cat recently. Last weekend, my dog Broly spent two days sniffing at the storage closet on my apartment’s small back porch. Because the door is always shut, I didn’t think much of his curiosity. At the end of the second day, I opened the door to show him there was nothing there… except a cat. A pitch black, green eyed, severely emaciated cat. Figuring he was the rescue case from upstairs, I took him back up to my neighbor. When he answered the door, his literal quote was, “Oh, I hate that f-ckin’ thing.” I suppose that should have been a red flag. But, because he asked to have some kitty litter to put a box on his own porch for him, I tried not to judge. An hour later, Broly was once again extremely interested in the storage closet.

The cat has been in there ever since, and giving him food and water while also allowing the dogs to keep their backyard has been a task. He doesn’t seem bothered by being in the closet (haha), and the weather isn’t yet too warm to let him stay in there, so I haven’t tried to eject him. The basic plan is to keep him hydrated, fed, and sheltered until I know what I want to do with him. I figure I’m gonna get him his shots, have him neutered, and just let him be my outside cat? Although, he seems to have turned a new leaf because he no longer eats like he’s starving and he tried to follow me inside earlier tonight. Maybe there is hope for Porch Cat after all.

Is it an unavoidable practice for you to take in lost souls? How far does your hospitality extend before you draw a line? Are animals a particular weakness, or do you stick to your own species?

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Manic Monday, hosted by RicoChey.

  1. Good luck to Porch Cat!

    Animals have definitely been a particular weakness.

    When we lived out in Oklahoma, I hired myself out to a Vet to clean his office three times a week in order to afford medical care for the motley band of rescues at our house, as well as all the others hubby and I picked up — by the end of ’97 we had eleven dogs, of various mutt mixes and sizes. I finally realized I couldn’t bring anymore home, but I kept finding homeless, sickly pups. So, we started enlisting the help of the doc.

    One day, while hubby was playing a round of golf, we spotted an Australian Shepherd mix that couldn’t climb a hill she was so weak. Poor thing had ticks so thick on her it was a wonder she could breathe. I took her to the doc, said we’d cover the costs of getting her better but didn’t know where to find a home for her… her name became Sal and she got a job as mascot of the Vet’s office 😉 Hubby and I never got her bill.

    It was very difficult for both hubby and I to face, but we finally understood that housing every stray wasn’t really providing true “care”. We found homes for most of our motley band and kept two… since then we’ve never allowed ourselves more than three pups at a time and we’ve become really good at finding homes for the needy and helpless we encounter.

    Like

    • RicoChey says:

      That reminds me of how we rescued Howard. He was skin and bones, covered in ticks the size of grapes, and just the happiest spirit I’d ever met. We knew he deserved better. We pretty literally kidnapped him, except all we did was pull up to where he used to wander in the middle of the night and let him jump into the truck. We took him home and he’s been happy with us for about seven years now. He has heartworms according to the vet, but he has shown absolutely no symptoms, so I’m beginning to think that was bullshit. Either that or Howard is immortal.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Brigit's Flame

Leave a Reply

