Chatter Post — Friday, April 24, 2015

Good morning, my fiery friends! I hope your week was a good one. Good or bad – the weekend is here! YAY!! Happy Friday!

As I think most of you know, I am participating in Camp NaNoWriMo this month. They offer virtual write-ins twice a week. I can’t do the Tuesday ones because they conflict with Choir rehearsal. On Thursdays, however, I was able to convince my Writing Buddy (and little brother) that we should do the Write In at 2 PM (which is our usual weekly call time) and then have our call after that.

Today, the prompts were very helpful. I don’t think I necessarily took them where the moderators expected them to go – I went where my brain took me. The first prompt was this: Ask ten questions about your plot. They can be questions to which you know the answers or questions on which you are still undecided. That was such a great prompt for me because it helped me figure out where I need to go from here.

The second prompt was not useful for me. The third, however, was to write about the internal struggles of one or more of your characters. That was very helpful, since it showed me what my protagonist is still dealing with and what needs to be resolved. It hasn’t given me a story arc yet – I know that will happen in the next day or so. The fourth prompt was to write a story in which your character gets in trouble in the first line and out of trouble by the last line. That was a ten minute sprint. The last prompt of the day was: Break something. Someone’s heart or spirit, or something physical – just break something. And I found out something I didn’t realize one of my secondary characters was doing – and the effect inhaling the contents of a broken test tube would have on my protagonist.

Have you had any great prompts or ideas thrown your way in the past week that have helped you in your writing in any way? Please share!

Reminders:

Don’t miss Act III – it’s due on Sunday.

Have you read Acts I & II? Check out our reading lists here and here to share some comment love.

APAD is nearing a close. Read the poems and add your own. Bardi and Kathy have shared some true gems in there.

Camp NaNoWriMo is pushing to the end as well. I know people who have already validated at or above their word count goals. (I am not done. I expect I will hit word count on Tuesday or Wednesday, which still gives me validation before the last day!)

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chatter Post — Friday, April 24, 2015

  1. t.s.wright says:

    Reblogged this on Eadar Doodles + Cheese and commented:

    These are some great questions for an author to ask of their muse. Check out the insight Cedarwolfsinger has gained from Camp NaNoWriMo. Come share your experiences with us over at Brigit’s Flame

    Like

  2. t.s.wright says:

    I could just kick myself for not participating in Camp NaNoWriMo. It sounds like you are getting some great inspiration. I wonder where the mods are pulling those questions from.

    I can tell you that I have been learning things about my characters in “Adrift” just by sitting down and writing their back stories. In my original version of the novel, I used to reference Dallas’ vision that led to her pulling together a group of survivors to get off the planet, but I had never sat down and pictured the vision. In writing her back story I saw the entirety of it and that revelation led me to other details and strings in the web that ties everyone together.

    For RicoChey’s prompts I am working through Mabry’s back story – which is ironic because in the novel setting (in the beginning) Mabry’s entire function was to provide the back story of the “Adrift” universe. But now I’m writing her back story and it has filled in some gaps of how things happen at the start of the novel. I am beyond excited about that.

    I think that, when writing long fiction, I sometimes get bored because I already know how the story ends. Going back and looking at my characters from before it all got started has reenergized me to write the novel. I need to shed some of my distractions and write more.

    Keep sharing those NaNo gems with us. We can all benefit from stepping back and taking a new path to the old story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

