Manic Monday, hosted by RicoChey.

Good morn’, Flames.

The voting for Week Three is open.

The topic has been launched for Week Four — what shape does your Epilogue take?

The last few days of APAD are ticking away — check it out here.

My biggest writing project was meant to be a massive collaboration between myself and a friend. That friendship has since fallen apart and the rights (and work) have all been passed onto me. It’s looking like it’s gonna take at least five books to cover, so it’s going to be a huge undertaking every step of the way.

This happens to me fairly routinely. People come to me — “Hey, Cheyenne, you know how you can do that writing thing? Well how I about I tell you an idea and you just, like, write it?” It’s happened at least four times, and the pitch is identical every time. They tell me what they want, and I do the labor. The only reason the first one took on such a life of its own is because I contributed a great deal of the intellectual material, so it still feels like my own. The other endeavors, however, feel a lot like work.

The most recent project comes from my own boyfriend, who can write a bit, but apparently not enough. He has a brilliant mind and a vivid imagination, so stepping inside his ideas is always enjoyable. What isn’t enjoyable is trying to make sense of the timeline of his ideas. He’s one of those people who thinks “a guy shows up and saves everyone with a magic weapon” is sufficient to fill the bulk of 400 pages, because “that’s what happens!” It takes a lot of interrogation to get him to put fine detail on every single thought he has. As a writer (and a talker), I have difficulty tolerating his succinct nature. As a man of few words, he has difficulty understanding what my problem is. We’re a match made in heaven. I’m looking forward to the project, but this hang up may kill me.

Have you ever, or are you currently collaborating to complete a literary project? If not, have you ever considered it? Why or why not? What might be most difficult for you?

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manic Monday, hosted by RicoChey.

  1. Good luck with that 😉 It does sound like a lot of work, but it also sounds like great fun!

    I was stuck for an idea in one of the Brigit’s Flame contests of old (2010, I think), and voiced this frustration to hubby. He said, “I have an idea!” It went like this: A bush pilot who makes regular supply drops to a remote area in Alaska arrives one day to find the entire town deserted … breakfast plates are left warm on tables, car engines left running in parking lots, doors flung open … and not a soul around. The pilot discovers evidence that the entire population has been abducted by aliens (gasp!). The pilot makes a frantic call for help, voices his suspicions (oops), and authorities rush to the scene, skeptical but alarmed. And, wouldn’t ya know it, all the residents are right back where they should be when “help” arrives. The pilot is taken away by strangers wearing white lab coats. WHAT REALLY HAPPENED?

    This story became “Max Key”, an 8k word thriller that I finished several months later and shared in a fiction writing class. In spite of the good reviews from classmates, hubby was a bit disgruntled. He said I “changed” too much of his original idea. What I actually did was name the characters and flesh out the story behind that mysterious town — I just left Key’s fate a bit ambiguous. In spite of his protests, hubby didn’t hold the “changes” against me, but I’ve since been reluctant to collaborate with anyone on another story.

    The problem that niggled at me all throughout this collaborative process was not the idea itself, but the fact that I couldn’t quite take ownership of the characters right away. I loved the idea. I immediately recognized the need for the protagonist’s end to be a mystery. Even so, the story was almost a year old before it truly felt like mine. I’m way too possessive to enjoy a project that doesn’t immediately feel like mine.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

