Submitting Your Writing For Publication

We’ve all got those Real Life obligations that too often pull us away from our passion projects. I don’t know about y’all, but I feel rather useless some days upon realizing just how many reading opportunities can be missed in a single day. More importantly, in my opinion, are the opportunities missed to encourage a fellow writer.

Sadly, it’s impossible for each of us to reach out to someone who might need our encouragement the most at a specific hour, on a specific day. Nonetheless, I would like to call upon every follower of the Flame, newcomer and veteran alike, to encourage a certain writer today — yourself!

Regardless of what stage you’ve achieved in fiction, poetry, or nonfiction, regardless if your end goals have yet become clear, please know that all of your fellow writers get it. We understand the need to write, and we understand the persistence of that need even with all the world and all those Real Life obligations seem to conspire and shout all at once “You Can’t Do This!”. Just keep writing.

And, whether you have shared your writing here or not (yet), I would like to take this opportunity to encourage the consideration of submitting your work to at least one of the many online and/or print venues that are practically begging for new writers! Take a chance. Give yourself the chance to become accustomed to that rush of pleasure that comes with a nod of acknowledgment from people who appreciate all the obstacles before someone with a passion for putting words to the page!

There are probably thousands of published writers and photographers out in the world today who can say they got their first acceptance from Russell Streur’sĀ The Camel Saloon. Five of my earliest works are there, and I can’t help but adore Russell and his passion for sharing art.

The Blue Hour Magazine accepts up to three poems, or one short story via email submissions. Read their guidelines for full instructions on submitting essays as well. There is no reading fee, and no cash award; even so, there are readers waiting, and you can follow The Blue Hour on WordPress!

Rattle not only publishes and pays for poetry and essay, the magazine also provides a daily email to those readers who wish to follow newly accepted works. My Poetry for the 21st Century email from Rattle is usually the first thing I read every morning.

These are just a few of the venues readily accessible ON THE INTERNET that has open submissions almost all year round. Check them out!

Personally, I’ve got my eye on Rattle. I’m very interested in submitting there, particularly now that I have received notification that my collection of poetry and creative nonfiction did not win the contest I submitted it to in February. Yes, I got a rejection letter this morning — it was quite lovely and came with notes from the judges. I will be receiving a certificate for reaching the quarter finals, though! Somehow, I don’t feel rejected at all.

Today, consider the floor open to discussion about your latest writing goals and what fears (or celebratory announcements) you might have concerning submitting to public venues. Let’s talk about writing! Meanwhile, if you have any suggestions for open submissions for us to peruse, please feel free to leave a link in comments.

Congratulations to you all for continuing to write, and, for taking a chance on yourself (at least once) to submit your work. Send it out into the world and let others read! #gowrite, y’all.


ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Be sure to show some love to our participants in the Week Three contest! Read. Comment. Vote. LOVE.

Even though you haven’t submitted an entry all month long, our Just For Fun contest is open to you! Check out RicoChey’s last prompt for April, and consider your options for Epilogue.

National Poetry Month is almost over. Don’t fret! You can still share your poetry prowess with us by posting to our very own A Poem A Day feature.

 

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Submitting Your Writing For Publication

  1. skyllairae says:

    Love to the saloon! Thanks for posting links to publication places, I’ve been very lackadaisical about sending out submissions the last few months. This post is great motivation. One of the things I’ve been trying to do is put my work up as spoken word on my soundcloud account. Sometimes reading my poetry aloud is really fun but most times I get nervous and worry that I sound silly at best. It’s not that I don’t like my poetry, I just don’t have very much confidence in my voice. I need to work on that.

    One thing that might interest some people is: Paper Nautilus Chapbook Contest https://readpapernautilus.wordpress.com/vella-chapbook-contest-guidelines/

    It’s open to fiction and poetry, also mixed/hybrid genres. Deadline is May 15 and the contest entry fee is only $11. I say “only.” As I am not very much employed I had to save up for the fee. Which is very good for a chapbook contest, I’ve found the running average to be between $15 and $20. A good piece of advice one of my teachers told me: never pay more than $25 for a reading/contest fee and only that much if it’s for a full length manuscript. Anything higher is too much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Saloon love! Thanks for the link to Paper Nautilus … I’m compiling a list now of options for Ramshackle Houses, and trying to decide whether or not to send it out again before summer. Other options for individual works are Thrush Poetry Journal, Plume, Atticus Review, and The Arkansas Review (I’ve been looking at all these, too, in case I decide to send off individual pieces). I’m so glad this post was motivation! Your list of publications, thus far, is pretty impressive. No reason to slow down now!

      Liked by 1 person

      • skyllairae says:

        Thanks for the list of pubs šŸ™‚ I’m going to have to check out The Arkansas Review before I move away from Arkansas lol. It was a serious motivation, I just sent off 4 poems to Rattle šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • And then, there’s this: http://poetryhasvalue.com/post/108645629158/journals-that-pay-for-poems-a-resource

      I just saw this post today, which links to a terrific spreadsheet with info on fees, payment, and reading periods. Check it out. I spent the morning sending off four poems to Rattle and Poetry Magazine! Have you chosen any other potential venues yet, besides Rattle?

      Liked by 1 person

      • skyllairae says:

        I’ll check it out šŸ™‚ Thanks! I actually haven’t come across other paying venues yet but when I do I’ll let you know.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

