Chatter Post — Friday, May 1, 2015

Hello, friends of the Flame. Happy Friday! Happy May! I hope the week has treated you well. One way or another, it is almost over. Hope you have a great weekend.

I feel very good today. I won Camp NaNoWriMo! In Camp, unlike the November challenge, you are allowed to set your own word count goal, and you can change it until validation starts. My original goal was 20K. I took off so fast that I would have been finished by the second week. That was clearly not challenging enough – I reset for 30K. The next week, it appeared that I would win by April 19th. Clearly, I needed to change my goal. The final goal was 40K. (I am so glad I didn’t go for 50K because this month had some things happen that hurt my soul and I just couldn’t write.) I validated today at 42,638 words. I am very happy – that is the highest word count I have ever had for a Camp NaNo!

The prompts from the Virtual Write Ins were helpful. Some were strange. Some were really helpful. As with any process, some prompts work for an individual and some don’t. The Write In facilitators were very clear that if the prompt did nothing for you to just forge on and write whatever you wanted.

My big take-aways from Camp this month:

  1. Word Sprints are my friend.
  2. The prompts that asked questions were, by and large, the best prompts for me.
  3. Writing every day is not as much of a chore as I feared.

    How did our APAD folks do? Chime in!

Reminders:

You should be writing and RicoChey wants to hear the Epilogue to your three act April story.

There is a sign-up going on for May’s month-long 5k words or less story – the theme for which will be shared on Sunday, May 3rd. You only have until Saturday night to reserve your spot.

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chatter Post — Friday, May 1, 2015

  1. t.s.wright says:

    I am so intrigued by the process Camp NaNo put you through. I need to shove everything off my desk next April and do it myself.

    My experience with the big NaNo and the local groups has been disappointing. They meet in person instead of online and I find the face-to-face meet-ups to detract from my writing time with no exercises to take away to further enhance my efforts. In my first NaNo run, I wrote alone as an island and met the goal, but what I wrote was crap. The next year, being more involved locally, I almost hit the goal, but I had many sleepless nights and sick days that November. I really struggled and only hit 45k.

    You did a great job. I hope you make something of all those words you shed.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

