Chatter Post, Friday, May 8, 2015 — by cedar

Happy Friday, my fiery friends! I hope you have had a good week, and the weekend is looking promising.

Reality – now that’s quite a subject that we have before us.

I went to an event last weekend. It was NOT a day trip. The trip up was 6.5 hours. The trip back was 7.5 hours. I was very tired during the trip back on Sunday. I pulled off into a rest area and took a power nap. When I got back on the road, I was still somewhat out of it. So, recalling that I had a Makem/Clancy CD (Irish folk musicians) in my bag of tricks, I got it out and put it in the CD player. I have owned this recording (first in cassette, then in CD) for 35 years or so. I have performed many of the songs and have friends who performed many of these songs with me.

I frequently have time oddities during long drives – a trip will either take longer than I imagine it has or I will feel as if it must have taken twice as long as clock time. I was singing harmony to the recordings. Then I was feeling as if I could actually get off at the next exit and be “in the reality” of the song I was singing. It was interesting. I have been a singer for as long as I can remember, and a musician for better than 50 years. I listen to music in the car frequently. I have never had that experience before. It was certainly a bend in the space/time continuum.

Have you ever had an experience in which reality seemed more fluid or flexible than “normal”? Tell us about it!

Hopefully, those of you who signed up are prepping for “What is Reality?” Check back with us over the weekend for some writing sprint exercises to keep you writing.

Talk to your friends who love to read about Brigit’s Flame. We will need some solid Beta readers in May to help us maximize feedback for the contest. We love readers as much as we love writers.

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chatter Post, Friday, May 8, 2015 — by cedar

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

