Chatter Post for Friday, May 22, 2015

Happy Friday, my friends! The Merry Month of May is winding down. How that happened, I have no clue. Take heed – the deadline for the month’s contest is fast approaching, with Monday being the last full day to write. I hope your weekend activities include planned time in which you can #gowrite.

Writing is a very private process, and can be isolating. When it’s just me and the computer, and the words in my head, I sometimes forget that there are people out there in the world beyond my screen. That frequently is difficult for me because I am a very social person. During NaNoWriMo, my region has a virtual chat room in which there are scheduled times that we gather there and do timed writing – or word sprints. I have enjoyed that in the past. I have also found that putting a timer on for 15 minutes and typing hell-bent-for-leather until it sounds is a great way to motivate myself to write. It also is a short enough duration to keep my interest while giving me time to write something that makes sense. I have been writing like that since last November. The piece I miss setting my own timer, is the camaraderie of sharing how many words we got on any given sprint with the other writers, and laughing about what we did.

On Sunday, Tami, Kathy, Cheyenne, and I spent a few hours on Google Hangouts doing sprints to various prompts. I believe our consensus was that a grand time was had by all!

I was able to figure out how to turn some of my scary medical stuff in 2014 into ways to include my protagonist in her own story, even when she spends weeks in a medically-induced coma. Various prompts were thrown around, at first each of us writing to a separate prompt. At the end of the session, though, Tami’s honey gave us a great prompt: A Most Unusual Tool. These are the words that came from Tami, Kathy, and I as a result.

https://eadard00dlesandcheese.wordpress.com/2015/05/17/timed-sprint-writing-prompt-a-most-unusual-tool/

https://generationkathyblog.wordpress.com/brigits-flame-entries/writing-sprints-flamestorming/

http://cedarwolfsinger.livejournal.com/91130.html

As you can see, so many different ideas can come from the same prompt in the same 15 minutes.

There will be more opportunities for involvement in writing sprints, so stay tuned – there will be more #flamestorming ahead!

To refresh your memory on the prompt for the May contest, in the event you have been writing for weeks and what you have now is nothing like what you expected when you started, and for ease of posting your entries –  Click here.

About brigitsflame

Brigit's Flame is an ever-evolving online writing community. We offer writing prompts and inspiration while sharing our own writing and reading observations with an audience of writers, poets, and readers. We encourage peer readership and constructive criticism for all of our members. Our motivation is simple -- creativity is a precious resource to be nurtured and the results of the creative process can grow into something beautiful when shared. All writing you share with us remains your property. Come check us out on Brigits Flame Writing Community on Wordpress and be sure to follow our activity on Brigits Flame on facebook, Brigits Flame on tumblr, or Brigits Flame on twitter. We are everywhere you are.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chatter Post for Friday, May 22, 2015

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap Up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

  2. Pingback: Manic Monday, hosted by RicoChey. | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

