Get to the End

Well, here we are, Wednesday. The last week of May. Exciting, no?

The deadline for the May contest was yesterday and I would like to take this opportunity to say how proud I am of everyone in this community. Thank you so much for your participation and support. I know we all can’t wait to read the fruits of all your hard work and dedication to writing.

For today’s chatter. I would like you to consider the words of poet Carolyn Forche. I was fortunate enough to remember to schedule a reading she gave in Conway, Arkansas, earlier this year, into my calendar. I almost didn’t go; my car had a flat tire and was running on the spare. But I’m glad I went because, as she read, she offered this piece of advice: get to the end.

The way I write, I do not think of where the end will be, what will happen, what message I want to leave my reader with. Today I encourage you to talk about your process of ending and how you crafted the end of your month-long journey here.

If you did not participate in this month’s challenge, please join the conversation and tell us how you decided to end something, anything.

#govoteflames for your favorite May story/poetry collection now! The posts are up and the writers have spoken! #goread and support your fellow Flames and be sure to share your thoughts on the awesome work everyone has done this month. #gosignup for the June contest now!

About 409writinglife

Jessica Halsey was born in Arkansas and has lived most of her life in the United States and Panama. She earned a BA in Sociology from Randolph-Macon Woman's College and an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. Would you like to know more?
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Get to the End

  1. Bringing an end to fiction pieces is problematic. I’ve read that many writers know the end first, then write the story. I suppose that’s why I’m not all that adept with fiction… I see the middle first. Always have. And years of practice, research, and whatnot has not changed that. At best, my fictional stories end with cliffhangers, and I tend to get very stressed out by that reality. I suppose that’s why poetry works for me — discovering the end of a poem is such a relaxed process. In fact, I could comfortably refer to it as a relaxation exercise. An ambling journey. This being the case, I can’t really offer up an explanation of how I crafted the end of my May entry, or why that particular poem felt like the end piece. Who knows? Eventually “Metaphor of Choice” may serve as the perfect beginning for a new collection. When I was finishing my book a few months ago, I got to what I thought was the end of the collection, read through, and realized it wasn’t the end at all. It was only then that I was inspired to write something that conveyed optimistic finality.

    Liked by 1 person

    • skyllairae says:

      I’m the same way with fiction, except I don’t always see the middle, just the beginning most times. It’s so frustrating. But, like you, poetry is much better for me.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

