Come Play A Game with Me

Good morning, my friends of fire.  I hope you have had a good week.  Mine has been full of deep thoughts.  As a consequence, I have decided to talk about writing games — and share a couple of them.

Language is a Virus

There are so many different options of games here.  The one that struck my fancy was the MadLib Poem.  When I was in Junior and Senior High School, MadLibs were a hit.  Being very music/drama/literature types, my friends and I just had the best of time with these games.  MadLibs are based on giving random parts of speech in a list.  Then, when you have collected the words, you read the story — which is bizarre because you had no idea what the context was.

This is the poem that was returned for me:

beautiful horse’s beautiful horse

I run my cups and all the berry sings paper;
I cry my pens and all is jump again.
(I drink I eat you up inside my hat.)

The shoess go lieing out in proud and confident,
And expert fan squirms in:
I wiggle my buggy and all the tree skips bus.

I writeed that you typeed me into desk
And read me skillful, cleaned me quite tired.
(I drink I eat you up inside my hat.)

umbrella saunters from the coat, selkie’s tomatos swim:
carve basket and trout’s canary:
I wiggle my buggy and all the tree skips bus.

I knited you’d weave the way you drum,
But I sleep happy and I dance your robin.
(I drink I eat you up inside my hat.)

I should have questioned a cardinal instead;
At least when candy analyzes they call back again.
I wiggle my buggy and all the tree skips bus.

(I drink I eat you up inside my hat.)

– Michelle & Sylvia Plath

The second game I picked was something called “Weave My Text”.  I just put in random song titles and lyrics, and this is what I got back:

come wash of of play
sing the the the with
a dishes Morning Spring my
song Brightest The I toys
with and Golden want and
me Best Vanity to my
keep of Rory go puppy
on the Dall home
singing Sons Rambles and

I hope they have at least given you a smile today.  Have you every played games like this?  If you take a look at Language is a Virus — do you think you might use these games to kick Writer’s Block?  Or just as a game at a party?

Talk to me, please!!

Yesterday we learned that our due date for the June “Lost & Found” contest is Monday, June 29th. Please change this on your calendars so you don’t cheat yourself out of precious writing days. I’m almost 3,000 words into my story. How about you?

Did you scratch out a little thought experiment or character study for your story in response to Kathy’s prompt here? The sprint is still open if you want to play with it and get feedback.

We’ll have our 2nd Flamestorming session of 2015 via Google Hangouts this Sunday, June 14th. Don’t miss it. We’ll have writing sprint prompts and community fun support to help you shape that June story into something truly awesome. Don’t forget to send an email to flamestorming.tng@gmail.com to get on the guest list.

About cedarwolfsinger

A woman on a journey.
This entry was posted in Chatter. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Come Play A Game with Me

  1. t.s.wright says:

    I used to love MadLibs when I was a kid! I remember laying across the backseat in my parents’ car as we road tripped and calling out, “Pick a noun. Pick a verb. Pick a proper noun.” thousands of times.

    I’m going to go do one and come back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. t.s.wright says:

    Reblogged this on Eadar Doodles + Cheese and commented:

    Play a word game and share your results 😀

    Like

  3. t.s.wright says:

    dirty book’s dirty book

    I bark my cabins and all the bus presss dog;
    I shudder my papers and all is recite again.
    (I incite I bend you up inside my hair tie.)

    The soda cans go stretching out in damp and wooden,
    And slick box scowls in:
    I holler my bread and all the grass squeals canyon.

    I dineed that you jumped me into pineapple
    And kick me curly, fliped me quite powdered.
    (I incite I bend you up inside my hair tie.)

    cactus twists from the gerbil, tree’s tulips run:
    sleep bulb and pizza’s laptop:
    I holler my bread and all the grass squeals canyon.

    I scooped you’d write the way you ride,
    But I drive ashen and I cry your pen.
    (I incite I bend you up inside my hair tie.)

    I should have shooted a swizzle stick instead;
    At least when straw bombs they laugh back again.
    I holler my bread and all the grass squeals canyon.

    (I incite I bend you up inside my hair tie.)

    – Tami & Sylvia Plath

    Create Your Own Madlib on LanguageIsAVirus.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

  5. OH WEIRD WORD GAMES! Here’s my MadLib:

    all in brown
    All in brown went my dog gathering
    on a meager table of tidy
    into the frightened car .

    sour exuberant entrance ed blue and ing
    the aggressive exit before.

    unfriendly be they than coarse compartment
    the billowy shiny exit
    the shiny aggressive exit .

    sour shiny theater at a platonic stage
    the fierce plate before.

    Juggler at church went my dog gathering
    gathering the street down
    into the frightened car .

    sour exuberant entrance ed blue and ing
    the loose court room before.

    elaborate be they than jaunty shiny arm
    the exuberant platonic exit
    the shrill blue n exit .

    sour shrill cloud at a tidy shell
    the zealous page before.

    pants at gale went my dog gathering
    gathering the book down
    into the frightened car .

    sour exuberant entrance ed blue and ing
    the zealous door before.

    foul be they than emotional eye
    the elaborate jagged exit
    the misdirected well-groomed exit .

    sour misdirected smoke at the brown book
    the well-groomed fly before.

    All in brown went my dog gathering
    on a meager table of tidy
    into the frightened car .

    sour exuberant entrance ed blue and ing
    my fedora drown pants before.

    – Kathy & e.e. cummings

    Liked by 1 person

    • t.s.wright says:

      I’m jealous that you got a different poet. I just went through and did the whole thing again only t o end up with the same poem by Sylvia Plath as a base.

      The refrain on this one came out quite naughty, though.

      yellow mouse’s yellow mouse

      I kick my sofas and all the drawer slips bag;
      I sail my presents and all is stroke again.
      (I scuffle I pet you up inside my honey.)

      The bees go washing out in furry and slanted,
      And tight storm plays in:
      I crinkle my note and all the band curses page.

      I sootheed that you spined me into polish
      And ache me papery, danceed me quite plush.
      (I scuffle I pet you up inside my honey.)

      bottle waffles from the scissors, claw’s mugs write:
      scribble notebook and photo’s table:
      I crinkle my note and all the band curses page.

      I lamented you’d shave the way you run,
      But I waltz sticky and I swing your pillow.
      (I scuffle I pet you up inside my honey.)

      I should have traverseed a tree instead;
      At least when frond reverberates they flee back again.
      I crinkle my note and all the band curses page.

      (I scuffle I pet you up inside my honey.)

      – Tami & Sylvia Plath

      Create Your Own Madlib on LanguageIsAVirus.com

      Like

  6. Pingback: The Exquisite Corpse: A Word Game | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

  7. Pingback: Where have you been? | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

