No game today — Film with Subtitles!

Happy Friday, my fiery friends.  I hope this day finds you well.

I just watched an amazing film, in German, about St. Hildegard of Bingen. I can’t remember the last film I watched that had subtitles. I have admired St. Hildegard’s work for years.  She was one of the first healers in the West who used herbs and stones as tools for healing.

I won’t bore you with any more about it.  If you are interested, here is the link.

Vision from the Life of Hildegard

Do you watch films with subtitles often?  If so, which is your favorite?

Be sure to read, comment, and vote for your favorites on the June Reading List & Voting Poll. That Newbie is on fire!

Be sure to sign up to write with us for July week one. A few people have pre-signed up for weeks two through four as well by simply stating their intent on the initial sign-up post. We are totally cool with that 🙂 Check back in the wee hours of Sunday morning for the official Week One prompt.

About cedarwolfsinger

A woman on a journey.
This entry was posted in Chatter. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No game today — Film with Subtitles!

  1. t.s.wright says:

    I haven’t watched many lately. I think we stumbled on a Horror movie a year ago that was in Spanish or Italian and watched it.

    There is a Russian fantasy series I love – Night Watch & Day Watch are the two movie titles. They are based on novels in a pentalogy written by Sergey Lukyanenko. I came upon the movies first, just a random preview that caught my attention on a DVD I had rented. I went into it so unaware that I watched the second movie before I knew there was a first one, and before I knew about the books. Typically I prefer subtitles to dubbing, so my son and I watched this fast-paced movie with a complex plot directed by Timur Bekmembatov (before he came to Hollywood) with little white words blurring past, barely able to keep up with the dialog. We were both really impressed, but we agreed that it felt like we’d walked into the middle of a story everyone knew but us.
    I did some research and found the first movie, Night Watch, on Amazon super cheap. Even after we watched it (subtitles again) we felt lost. I hit some forums online and found out that everyone who’d seen it recommended the dubbed version. Typically, I hate dubbing because it sounds fake and cartoonish. The voices don’t line up. The people on the web said the movie makers had done the dubbing right, Many of the actors involved spoke English already so instead of getting a whole other crew in to do a voice over in English, they used 95% of the original cast. The disc I bought had the dubbed version on the flip side, so we watched it again. Then we loved it even more
    I bought the second movie, Day Watch (I had only rented it before), and three books in the series that had been translated into English. The whole she-bang is still a favorite of mine to this day. It is the one and only time that I watched a subtitled movie and found the subtitles to detract from the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gahlearner says:

    I’m usually just lurking. I’m German and would have liked to check out the movie, but guess what happened. When I clicked on the link, it said: this film is not available in your country. Go figure…
    Could you please post the title, maybe it can be found elsewhere…
    To answer your question: I rarely watch movies with subtitles. French movies sometimes, since my French is not so good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The movie is called VISION: From the life of Hildegard of Bingen. I found the trailer on YouTube. I took the first instance of the film, not realizing it would lhave restrictions based on what country you were in. If I find another link, I will post that. Sorry about that — thank you for telling me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Das Boot was our most recent viewing (though it was filmed in the 80s), and quite an incredible movie. Two of my favorites, and probably just as old or close to it, are Run Lola Run and The Devil’s Backbone. The latter is in Spanish, rather than German. We also enjoyed Rita, a Danish TV series on Netflix.

    Like

  5. Cristina Van Estes says:

    I don’t watch them at all really. I think the only one I’ve watched is Pan’s Labyrinth, which I loved. I do watch movies in Spanish though on occasion to practice my language skills.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

