Down the Rabbit Hole

Greetings all! I hope everyone is having a wonderful week, getting started with their first July contest prompt, Knothole, I know I am 🙂

Visit the Month-o-Minis Week 1 post for details.

When I am given a writing prompt; when I think about something I need to bring my creativity to rather than using my creativity to go looking for something, I tend to explore many paths that I would not normally walk down. Including how to interpret the prompt and how I am going to portray that prompt to the world.

Today I would like to ask you, how do you go about deciding what you are going to do with a prompt once it has been given to you? Does inspiration strike your brain immediately and you start writing before you even realize you’ve picked up your pen? Or do you, like me, sometimes look at a prompt and say, “Wow, that’s cool! … Now what?”

When I stumble down the “now what?” rabbit hole, I either go for trying something completely different like writing a short story instead of a poem or I stay within my comfort zone, which is poetry. When I look at a prompt I like to try to stretch my mind and use it to think about something I wouldn’t normally think about. Like if I recently wrote a lot of nature poems I would try to write a poem about something inorganic.

I also like to explore different genres and tones as well as topics/themes. If I write horror I can use this opportunity to switch to comedy or romance. If I’ve been writing very serious or personal poems I can change gear and write about something outside of myself. And then once I’ve made that decision, I bring in the prompt and build from there.

So I want to invite you to share your process or writing practice with us. You just got a prompt, how do you make something out of it?

Thanks for stopping by and happy writing!

Reminders:

Again, Week 1’s prompt is explained here and is due on July 11 at 11:45 p.m. EDT. Stay tuned for the sign up post for Week 2.

Please share your thoughts on what your current and/or ideal writing space looks like here AND check out Kathy Boles-Turner’s interview with poet Robert Okaji of O at the Edges here.

#gowrite

About 409writinglife

none
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Down the Rabbit Hole

  1. Sonya says:

    I love those prompts that inspire a story at a glance. But they are super rare. So my approach is mostly now what? I often write down the first thing that comes into my mind and go from there, trying to write myself into a story. I think that’s the biggest thing I’ve learnt: Even when I think ‘this prompt does nothing for me’, once I start writing, I’ll find a story to latch on to.

    Liked by 2 people

    • skyllairae says:

      Awesome 🙂 I do that too, sometimes it happens almost automatically but most of the time I have several false starts before I feel enough in tune with an idea to do that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s really never the same. There’s been times inspiration doesn’t strike until an hour before deadline — regardless of the depth of that inspiration and the speed with which I can type it all down, I find it sad that the gears didn’t kick in quick enough. There’s instantaneous strikes that never yield anything, instantaneous strikes that cause me to lock all the doors and turn of the phone then write for three days straight, and many other different ways IT HAPPENS 😉 For the past few years my default has been poetry, too, but I do love the occasional opportunity to drabble.

    Liked by 1 person

    • skyllairae says:

      I’m the same way with deadlines and it bothers me too, like why couldn’t I have gotten to that idea last week? But then I’m also proud that I finish the writing in time to turn it in, like: yeah, I totally wrote that in 15 minutes haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. t.s.wright says:

    It’s always a grab bag for me as well. Sometimes my thoughts just meander into a story, sometimes I have to google prompts to see if some image or interpretation on the net will spark something. Other times I will wrangle a prompt to fit something I was already thinking about.
    Then there are times when my brain just gets stuck. I want the prompt to grow into a story, but my brain makes no association that I can write with. When this happens, I usually have too much mundane stuff going on in my head – to-do lists, unfavorable chores, conversation pitfalls to ruminate over. The creative force usually blowing through my escapist brain is so compressed by all of the stuff piling up it can’t even get to the end of a what-if statement. No good writing will happen there.
    I really prefer the meandering, but wrangling can be fun too. Especially when it forces me to think outside my character’s box.

    Liked by 2 people

    • skyllairae says:

      I completely agree! I really appreciate the wrangling just for that opportunity, helps develop the perceptions and interpretations for myself and my characters.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Sonya says:

    Um, silly question, but did I miss the sign-up post for week 2?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up- | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

