Peek Into A Dark Corner

How is your project progressing?

Have you decided to go with dark action and suspense, a psychological thriller? Or a poetic peek into a single afternoon of dark thoughts?

Feel free to ask writerly questions, to share a tidbit of your writing, or some insight that you’ve discovered during this recent undertaking. Meanwhile, here are some fun short fiction facts:

The Grey is based on a short story originally titled “Ghost Walker”, by Ian MacKenzie Jeffries.

AND!

The New Daughter, was originally written in short story form by John Connolly.

#gobeawesome

This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Peek Into A Dark Corner

  1. Rio says:

    I had Simon and Garfunkel’s song running in my head for days, the one that starts, “hello darkness my old friend.” That got me started on a conversation I would imagine one could have with darkness. “A vision softly creeping” became the title. I often start with primordial goop in the back of my brain, sometimes a piece of music creates images sometimes it evolves into a scene and then hopefully a story. Not always though. I sit in front of the computer for a half hour every morning just jotting things down. I get TOTALLY disillusioned at times so I don’t let myself spend any more time than this. With luck I have something reasonable after a few days. Then comes the problem of whether I show it to anyone. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

    • t.s.wright says:

      I love that song! The Sound of Silence is so profound and the way they sing it in that low, smooth tone is so fitting.
      When I was very young we had an 8track player and I had a small stack of my own music. The soundtrack to Fiddler on the Roof and Simon & Garfunkle’s Greatest Hits were my top two listens. I know both by heart to the extent I know how much sssssing to expect between tracks.

      What a great song to inspire writing. I wish I’d thought of that.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. t.s.wright says:

    I haven’t done any actual writing yet, but I’d like to put together another formal piece of Adrift. Mabry and Faraday will be tabled for a while as they meet their fate, but I have two other story lines to explore – one is earthbound, the other fully alien.
    In considering where to pick up the thread, another aspect of the story – a connection – revealed itself to me this morning. Now I’m super excited to get writing.

    Darkness is not just a thing of the sky, but a thing of the heart. In a heart of darkness dwells the ruination of man.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

