Between Point A and Point B

I really love traveling. I like trains, planes, boats, cars, everything that inspires movement.

I also like the places where traveling starts: bus terminals, airports, train stations, etc.

I’m one of those people who doesn’t get annoyed when my plane gets delayed and I have to spend six extra hours in the airport.

I like walking around and looking at shops and finding little pockets of tranquility. I like the slot machines in the Las Vegas airport, the NASA store in the Houston’s airport, the pubs in Heathrow’s airport.

The journey is just as important as the destination. The journey can be a beautiful physical and emotional landscape. The places you find along the way have their own stories.

As you depart from Point A and head towards Point B, what happens to you? Please share with us some of your favorite travel stories. How has the journey shaped your destination?

Reminders:

Go vote for your favorite story from the last week of October HERE. Thank you so much to you who participated 🙂 Poll closes Thursday, November 5, 11:45 p.m. EDT.

November’s first contest topic, DEPARTURES, is here. Entries are due by November 15, 11:45 p.m. EDT.

About 409writinglife

Jessica Halsey was born in Arkansas and has lived most of her life in the United States and Panama. She earned a BA in Sociology from Randolph-Macon Woman's College and an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. Would you like to know more?
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Between Point A and Point B

  1. At the very thought of air travel, I used to break out into a sweat. Pure panic sweat. I want to see the world, and here I am TERRIFIED of the prospect of getting on a plane! We all would joke that if there was ever an emergency and flight was absolutely necessary, hubby would have to drug me and toss me into the luggage compartment just to get me to the destination. (Think of B.A. in the original A-Team 😉 That would totally be me.)

    Then, in 2013, dire circumstances pressured me into only one choice — if I wanted work and a place to stay, I had to take a part-time job in Phoenix. Airline tickets, hotel, and rental car would be provided with the job. I actually got on a plane. Sober and completely awake.

    AND I LOVED IT! My face was pressed against the window for the two flights that got us from Memphis to Phoenix. LOVED IT! I got some amazing photos out that window 😉

    I do still love road trips, though. Nothing really competes with the open road and a car stereo at full volume. 80s music is particularly suited to high-speed road travel!

    Liked by 1 person

    • skyllairae says:

      That’s an awesome story 🙂 I’m glad the experience of flying wasn’t terrible for you. Road trips, especially with good company, are one of the most amazing things in the world.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

