Bell Work: Up, and Away!

Good morning, Flames! And to those of you participating in National Novel Writing Month, Happy Day Nine! This morning’s Bell Work has a little something for both of you.

Did you know only 5% of the world’s population has ever experienced air travel? I learned this from a Sky Mall magazine while I was flying from Phoenix to Denver on my way to my current vacation destination. And, predictably, it got me to thinkin’. Now, to be fair, 5% of the world’s population is roughly the population of the United States, but even as I put it further and further into perspective, all it serves to show me is that I had a deeply skewed idea of how ubiquitous air travel really is. If I were that misinformed about something as common as air travel, then can same somewhat shocking demographics apply to all other forms of travel?

As writers, it is essential for us to consider the unique experiences of our characters. Today, consider that given. For those of you writing for November, take us into the mind of your main character. For those of you NOT participating in the self torture, take us into the mind of the most recent character you were able to see clearly. In 300 words or less, give that character the first time experience of a new sort of travel.

Click here to check the DEPARTURES board for your inspiration for November’s first topic!

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bell Work: Up, and Away!

  1. I’m a reader and not a participant lately but this statistic really jarred me, like woah.
    Logically I know that the population of the world is beyond my grasp. I understand the numbers but to truly process the vastness of a number so large is difficult.
    Then there is that most people who fly are repeat offenders. Airmiles wouldn’t exist otherwise.
    But only 5%? Logically, I get it. It just still seems so…small.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: From The Darker Side: Fangs and Fangirls | Brigit's Flame Writing Community

Leave a Reply

