Time Crunch: ARE YOU DONE YET!?

Happy morning, Flames! Today’s Chatter is gonna split into two parts. First, for those of you to whom it is applicable…

NANOWRIMO IS OVER!

From the NaNo crowd, I’d like to hear a summary of your experience this year. Did you break 50k? If so, by how much? If not, how shy? Was this your first NaNo, or are you a seasoned pro? Would you care to share a synopsis of the results of your effort?

For those of you who did not participate (or if you’re already trying to put the horror behind you), let me say that yes, I’m tying the idea of a time crunch deliberately into the recent events of NaNo just to have a shameless excuse to belly ache about a time sensitive project I’ve been given at work.

Boo hoo, my aptitude for writing and typeset design got noticed and I was asked to produce a quarterly newsletter that isn’t my job. To be fair, it was wasn’t so bad the first time. There was a lot of drama with an office manager who doesn’t actually know what she wants, but it wasn’t that bad. So what’s my gripe? A couple months ago we hired the person whose job it would be to produce the newsletter, so I gave up my aspirations of being supreme newsletter overlord but kept “Editor – Quaterly Parking E-News” firmly inked into my resume. Then, one day after returning from a two week vacation that I am only slightly ashamed to say was long enough to make me forget how to do my job, that same office manager decides it’s newsletter time again… and sends the new hire to tell me she wants it “by next week”. For perspective, it was the Monday of a three-day holiday week and everyone is buried under a landslide. I was peeved.

Oh, I did it. But I was peeved, particularly considering it’s not my job.

So, the topic on deck is time crunch. I’m sure all of us are at least a little familiar with writing sprints; those quick, 5 to 30 minute long foot races to produce something profound before your friends can? And, as the month of its participation has just come to an end, a number of us are definitely familiar with the madness that is trying to write 50,000 noteworthy words in just 30 days.

Some might say there is a certain thrill to being rushed, pushed, or challenged more than usual. It gets the blood pumping, the synapses blinking and twitching, and sets our teeth on an edge that coffee only exacerbates. Yeah, see, I’m not like that. Pressure does not stimulate me positively, and the fact that I can still manage to perform under it just makes me bitter. You’d think it would be easier to avoid pressure if there were clear signs it just didn’t work for you!

Is pressure your muse? When the heat is on, are you the cool customer? Do you find there is a curve, that under certain conditions you find pressure inspiring, and under others it’s just misery?

The December contest is here! Are you ready to Move Heaven and Earth?

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time Crunch: ARE YOU DONE YET!?

  1. The four years that I attended college and worked full-time, pressure was an almighty muse and motivator. I’ve been out of school long enough now that the only outcome of extreme pressure is me sitting in a corner chain smoking and staring at a wall. Apparently Everyday Life is devoid of learning and creating and is ultimately stressful and unproductive for me. The change I’ve seen is in my day job — I too get assigned tasks outside my job description and purpose. And I seem to be excelling at it. I get to innovate, exert my personality, and I get a sense of being vital to daily operations. Everyday Life really must take notes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

