A Year of Reading: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I finished Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn last week. It was fantastic.

I won’t reveal any details, but I will say that what captured me most was how easily I sympathized with the second of the two main characters, Amy. Amy’s contribution to the story is presented in the form of diary entries, and nearly every entry (from start almost, to my horror, to finish), took me to a place in myself that was both familiar and yet wholly unexpected. For those of you who have finished the book (or perhaps only the movie), you will understand why my boyfriend guffawed and scoffed heartily when I said, “I identify with her so much!” As with all of the best stories, I wasn’t able to appreciate his meaning until I neared the conclusion of the narrative.

One of the great superpowers of an author is to expose us for who we are by giving us the chance to put ourselves in the shoes of completely fictional strangers. To me, a spectacular narrative is an indictment of human nature. Flynn produced the image of Amy Elliot Dunne as if she were a mirror, and frightened me with how much we had in common, no matter what turn was taken through the details of Amy’s experience. It was enough to make me question my own fiber as a human being.

I intend to make 2016 a year of reading, especially since I didn’t read a THING in 2015 and I swear I can feel my mind slipping away. Having been so impressed with Gone Girl, I move on now to Sharp Objects, another of Flynn’s novels.

Have you ever felt so close to a character that, at some point, it unnerved you? Without spoilers, please, can you tell me about that experience?

Bonus Question: Will 2016 be a reading year for you? If so, what is your goal?

We need help with lists! Follow me here to lend a hand!

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Year of Reading: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. My goal is the same every year, and every year since making the goal I fail — 50 books. Since 2009 I’ve kept a running list of books, articles, literary journals, etc. Of course this year I will do the same.

    It’s been a while since I’ve identified with a character. What I usually end up with is declaring an author’s genius for being so bold to attempt to articulate emotions, to depict unattractive situations with absolute beauty. 2015 was a year of falling in love all over again with Beth Kephart and Cheryl Strayed, Their narratives, nonfiction or otherwise, touch my soul in the best of ways. Then there was my introduction to Chris Bohjalian, who told a fictional story with grit and heartache any nonfiction should totally envy.

    You’ve inspired me to make a 2016 MUST READ LIST 🙂

    Like

  2. Rio says:

    I heard the book was really good but I didn’t like the movie at all. Do you have a recommended reading list? I am desperate for some reading material !

    Like

Leave a Reply

