Read Your Heart Out

For those of you who don’t know, I can read. Yes, I understand that is not impressive, or at least it shouldn’t be, but let’s not get into the global illiteracy debate just yet.

I mention my ability to read because, as far as 2015 was concerned, there was no proof. I don’t think I read a single book all year. My e-mail inbox at work is probably the most reading action I’ve gotten, and that’s predictably bland material.

I may have mentioned it before, but I’ll say it again. I am going to read 50 books in 2016, and Good Reads and Over Drive are going to be my weapons. Don’t know what those are? Well! Let’s learn together!

Good Reads is a reading app (no way!), centered around an individual’s goals and experiences. You create shelves for yourself, and add books to them. Digitally, of course. Some shelves are provided by default, and books can be reshelved at the tap of a button. For instance, I now have 124 books on my ‘Want to Read’ shelf, on which I keep titles I — you guessed it — want to read. I also have a ‘Currently Reading’ shelf, which is interactive and allows me to update my progress in any given book I am currently enjoying. If you add friends, they can see your progress, suggest new titles, comment on your titles, and peruse your shelves for their own inspiration. Good Reads will also keep a running tally of your 2016 Reading Challenge, toward whatever goal you choose!

Follow for follow? Find me on Good Reads!

Over Drive is also a reading app, but in the more literal sense. Wanna check out a book, but don’t have time to get to the brick and mortar library we all love so much? Or, is your selection unavailable in print? Try your library’s digital inventory! Using the Over Drive app for on your phone, tablet, or e-reader, you can borrow digital books in one click. Most libraries now offer a digital selection, so go check your branch’s website for details! Not all situations will require an app like Over Drive.

Make 2016 a year of reading, because a well read writer is a well written writer.

What are you reading today?

About RicoChey

I'm just an unmarried, childless, thirty-something high school dropout with big ideas and a small attention span. Weave drunkenly behind me as I meander through my own life: a winding path of musings on life, relationships, food, the few politics I can stomach discussing, and probably really dumb stuff like the ratio of Sex and the City episodes wherein Carrie does and does not appear to be wearing extensions.
This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Read Your Heart Out

  1. Reblogged this on generationKathy and commented:

    50 books in 2016? Let’s!

    Like

  2. missflyer says:

    Went searching for you on Goodreads (RicoChey), but couldn’t find you… I’m on using my first and last name šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. missflyer says:

    Went searching for you on Goodreads (RicoChey), but couldn’t find you… I’m on using my first and last name šŸ™‚

    I’ve been a read-a-holic this past year, which included a massive re-read of the 62 book Animorphs series šŸ˜€ Plus various other books – I think my final count was around 130 or so, though it did include a number of Japanese manga, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

