Proof Of Life: Writing About Writing

“To defend what you’ve written is a sign that you are alive.” ~ William Zinsser

Today, I invite all hard laboring writers to defend something you’ve written. No matter if it’s old or new, no matter if it has been published or hides out in the bottom drawer of your desk. Tell us about it. Tell us why you wrote it. Inspire us with your dedication to this character, this plot, this form, that demanded you be the one to bring it into the world.

#writingISgood

 

This entry was posted in Chatter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Proof Of Life: Writing About Writing

  1. skyllairae says:

    When I was in high school I tried writing a YA vampire novel. This was back when the only vampire books in Barnes and Noble were the Amelia Atwater-Rhodes Den of Shadows series and all of Anne Rice’s vampires. Oh and, of course, Dracula, in the Classics section. I wanted to write a vampire novel because I wanted more supernatural and paranormal YA literature. I should have known that all I had to do was wait 10 years and there would be more YA supernatural than I could ever want. But I tried writing my own and I got as far as chapter 9 and then the computer forgot it had a hard drive. These were the days before portable USB drives and the cloud. I lost everything. So I re-wrote it and I got to chapter 9 again on a different computer and then that one died. So I took that as a sign to stop. I might pick it up again later but I wrote it because diving into that world was my escape from all the bad things. My protagonist was a 300-year-old, teenaged girl vampire named Lori (short for Lorienda) and at the beginning of the book she started out looking for the vampire who killed a few of her other vampire friends. I think I also had vampire hunters in there somewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

