APAD Day four

Star-Crossed – For Love of Day, For Love of Night by Andrea Dietrich

In shadows’ veils, at end of night,
sweet Moon removes her modest light
and softly, yet again, exhales –
at end of night, in shadows’ veils.

As she departs, her love’s released
to climb the stairway to the east.
They cannot meet to share their hearts.
Her love’s released as she departs.

She watches him while hid from view,
the way he kisses morning’s dew,
and sees gold rays spill from his rim.
While hid from view, she watches him.

Sad Moon, alone for centuries,
with awe has watched Sun leave, cerise.
while she, afar. . . how cold she’s grown!
For centuries, sad moon alone.

She takes his place so he may rest.
And though forlorn, she’s always dressed
in lace, for Luna has great grace.
So he may rest, she takes his place.

For love of night, for love of day,
she can’t implore him that he sway
from course. To be apart’s their plight.
For love of day, for love of night.

_____________________________________________________

(This is a form called Swap Quatrain, where first
line’s phrases swap in the last line of each stanza.)
The chase of sun and moon is a recurring theme of folklore and mythology.
Even now that we have the means to know what the bodies really are, how they
orbit, how we orbit writers will look to the sky and see two lovers who rarely
spend time together.

I really like the form of this poem – the way the first line is transitioned to end the stanza.

Happy day four!

About t.s.wright

Writer, reader, casual photographer, nature-lover, dog mom. I grew up in a tree, inside a book, whispering possible futures into discarded seed pods that curled up and exploded each summer. One day, they cut down my tree and I was forced to go to school while waiting for the replacement trees to grow strong enough to hold me. But while we waited, I grew too heavy and awkward to climb, so I had to get a job. I spent my days surrounded by flimsy walls covered in carpet that made boxes and people who forgot to look out windows. I worked really hard. Possibilities were replaced with formulas and exactitude. Eventually I forgot how to climb a tree...and how to smile. Then one day, a dog licked my foot excessively and I remembered smiling. That reminded me of more things that didn't cost money and couldn't be tallied in a spreadsheet - like hugs and love and being happy. So I found myself a Steve who reminded me what home was. Then we filled it and our hearts with dogs. Eventually we planted our own tree, together. Even though I'm happy right here, right now, I remembered that we all need possibilities to dream of, so I've started writing them down.
This entry was posted in APAD - A Poem A Day, Chatter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to APAD Day four

  1. Gorgeous and so old-world. Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

